christineglover

Just another WordPress.com site

A Technophobe Learns a New Blog Site November 28, 2010

Filed under: technophobe — christineglover @ 2:04 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

As a romance writer, I already have a blogspot and it has worked quite nicely for me. However, I was recently asked to join a new blog group that uses WordPress. Petits Fours and Hot Tamales is a fabulous group of writers with the Georgia Romance Writers of America and when they called to ask me to join their blog group, I was honored.

I said yes, but I also knew I’d have to learn a different blog style. One that kind of scared me. I had already tried to learn how to use WordPress under a different email, and failed. I gave up and went back to what I knew was working for me.

Now I am venturing out into unknown territory for my “art.” I started reading a book called WE ARE NOT ALONE: The Writer’s Guide to Social Media by Kristen Lamb. This book has opened my eyes to a lot of different tools.

And WordPress is one of the social media tools recommended by the author. That fact, and my invitation to join PFHT has impelled me to plunge into WordPress. While I am maintaining my blog on the other site, this blog will be my experiment into new techno territory.

And my family will be with the first to tell you that I am not techno savvy.

This will be an interesting journey indeed. Any advice or help offered will be greatly appreciated. Once I have mastered this blog (which I plan to work on once a week till I am comfortable), I just might move my entire kit and kaboodle over to it from my other site.

All this and I got a domain name this week, too!

 

Leave a Reply

