christineglover

Just another WordPress.com site

Golden Hearts & My Critique Partner March 25, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — christineglover @ 9:59 pm
Tags: ,

No, I didn’t final in the Golden Heart. But I did get the next best thing: seeing my critique partner, Sharon Wray, final in the Romantic Suspense category. She’s entered four times (or five–we can’t remember) and this is the first time she has finaled.

Best news of all: a request from a contact’s agent/editor as soon as the word was out.

I am over the moon for my friend. She’s worked hard for it and she’s earned it. She’s experienced the low of NOT finaling for four years in a row.

Now she is experiencing the HIGH.

So for those of you out there celebrating, I celebrate with you all. And for those of you out there who are feeling a bit stung and low, remember my friend’s experience. Keep writing, keep focused and NEVER GIVE UP!

 

2 Responses to “Golden Hearts & My Critique Partner”

  1. MaryC Says:

    Congrats to your CP. What exciting news for her and what a wonderful reward for her perseverance.Hugs to you but chin up because, while finaling is amazing and certainly a validation of your work, not finaling really shouldn't mean anything to a writer who knows she's got talent.

  2. Christine Says:

    Thanks MaryC. I am actually OK with not finaling. I knew one of my entries wouldn't make it because of the erotic elements–and it's still an ongoing work in progress. But I had a few hopes for my MAGGIE finalist MS doing better. To have my CP final made my day. I know how hard she worked for this and she is a tremendous talent. Nationals will be fun this year!


Leave a Reply

